The directors of “Censor”, “After Love” among the new talents of BIFA


Variety Must-watch director Prano Bailey-Bond (“Censor”) and BAFTA-nominated “After Love” filmmaker Aleem Khan are among 39 filmmakers shortlisted in the British Independent Film Awards (BIFA) New Talent categories.

The 39 selected filmmakers will be invited to join BIFA’s Springboard Program, a tailor-made professional development, peer support, mentoring, networking and skills enhancement program aimed at nurturing emerging talent while leveraging on the success of their first feature films.

The final five nominations in each category will be announced on November 3. The winners will be announced at the ceremony on December 5.

Long lists:

The Douglas Hickox Prize
(Best First Director)

Aleem Khan – “After love”
Matt Chambers – “The Bike Thief”
Prano Bailey-Bond – “Censor”
Jonathan Butterell – “Everyone’s Talking About Jamie”
Sonita Gale – “Hostile”
Jack Clough – “People don’t do anything: big in Japan”
Reggie Yates – “Pirates”
Celeste Bell “Poly styrene: I’m a cliché” [also Directed By Paul Sng]
Corinna Faith – “The Power”
Charlotte Colbert – “She will”
Camille Griffin – “Silent Night”
Marley Morrison – “Honey”
Cathy Brady – “Forest fire”

Best First Screenwriter Sponsored by Film4

Aleem Khan – “After love”
Tom Palmer, Tom Stourton – “All My Friends Hate Me”
Matt Chambers – “The Bike Thief”
Colum Eastwood – “Dark Medicine”
Prano Bailey-Bond – “Censor” [also written by Anthony Fletcher]
Richard Bean, Clive Coleman – “The Duke”
Tom Macrae – “Everyone’s Talking About Jamie”
Steve Stamp, Allan Mustafa – “People don’t do anything: big in Japan”
Reggie Yates – “Pirates”
Corinna Faith – “The Power”
Charlotte Colbert, Kitty Percy – “She Will”
Camille Griffin – “Silent Night”
James Webber – “Sorority”
Marley Morrison – “Honey”
Matt Redd – “The Toll”
Cathy Brady – “Forest fire”

Revolutionary producer sponsored by Pinewood Studios Group

Tom Palmer – “All My Friends Hate Me”
PK Fellowes, Sophia Gibber – “The Bike Thief” [also produced by Lene Bausager]
Annika Ranin, Jasmin Morrison – “Boardiers”
Hester Ruoff – “Boiling Point” [also produced by Bart Ruspoli]
Dominic Tighe – “Taurus” [also produced by Leonora Darby, Sarah Gabriel, Marc Goldberg, Mark Lane]
Helen Jones – “Censor”
Katie Hodgkin – “The Way of the Martyrs” [also produced by Christine Alderson]
Tim Sealey – “People don’t do anything: big in Japan” [also produced by Claire Jones]
Rob Watson – “The Power” [also produced by Matthew James Wilkinson]
Martyn Robertson, Louise Storrie – “Ride the Wave”
Jessica Malik – “She Will” [also produced by Bob Last]
Clive Patterson – “Sing, Freetown”
Michelle Antoniades – “Honey”

Revolutionary performance

Ariana Bodorová – “Ali and Ava”
Tom Stourton – “All My Friends Hate Me”
Jude Hill – “Belfast”
Lauryn Ajufo – “Boiling Point”
Max Harwood – “Everyone’s Talking About Jamie”
Tom Prior – “Firebird”
Ellora Torchia – “In the Earth”
Hannah Douglas – “Lapwing”
Kiera Thompson – “The Way of the Martyrs”
Daniel Lamont – “No part special”
Tallulah Greive – “Our Ladies”
Elliot Edusah – “Pirates”
Jordan Peters – “Pirates”
Reda Elazouar – “Pirates”
Rose Williams – “The Power”
Nell Barlow – “Honey”


Leave A Reply