Independent Film Spirit Awards nominations announced by Beanie Feldstein, Regina Hall and Naomi Watts #spiritawards #filmindependent #nominees #2022


The 2022 Spirit Awards will air on IFC on Sunday, March 6, 2022

The independent film Spiritual rewards announced the nominees of its 37th annual awards ceremony, which is set to return in person to the beaches of Santa Monica on Sunday, March 6, 2022.

For the second year, the Spirit Awards recognize outstanding achievement in uniqueness of vision, innovation and boldness in Television and streaming as well as feature films. The nominees have been revealed on Film Independent Youtube channel this morning, with special guest presenters Naomi Watts, Regina Hall and Beanie Feldstein.

Here is the full list of Spirit nominees

Best feature
“A Chiara”
“Come on”
“The Lost Girl”
“The Novice”

Best Director
Janicza Bravo, “Zola”
Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Girl”
Lauren Hadaway, “The Newbie”
Mike Mills, “Go Go”
Ninja Thyberg, “Pleasure”

Best Male Lead
Clifton Collins Jr., “Jockey”
Frankie Faison, “Murder of Kenneth Chamberlain”
Michael Greyeyes, “Wild Indian”
Udo Kier, “Swan Song”
Simon Rex, “Red Rockets”

Best Female Role
Isabelle Fuhrman, “The Novice”
Brittany S. Hall, “Test Model”
Patti Harrison, “Together Together”
Taylor Paige, “Zola”
Kali Reis, “Catch the Beauty”

Best Supporting Woman
Jessie Buckley, “The Lost Girl”
Amy Forsyth, “The Rookie”
Ruth Negga, “Passing by”
Revika Reustle, “Pleasure”
Susanna Son, “Red Rocket”

Best Supporting Actor
Colman Domingo, “Zola”
Meeko Gattuso, “Queen of Glory”
Troy Kotsur, “CODA”
Will Patton, “Sweet Thing”
Chaske Spencer, “Wild Indian”

Best Screenplay
Nikole Beckwith, “Together Together”
Janicza Bravo, Jeremy O. Harris, “Zola”
Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Girl”
Mike Mills, “Go Go”
Todd Stephens, “Swan Song”

Best First Screenplay
Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr., “Wild Indian”
Matt Fifer; Sheldon D. Brown’s Story, “Cicada”
Shatara Michelle Ford, “Test Model”
Fran Kranz, “Mass”
Michel Sarnoski; Story of Vanessa Block, Michael Sarnoski, “Pig”

Best First Feature Film
“7 days”
“Queen of Glory”
“Test Model”
“Wild Indian”

John Cassavettes Award (given to the best feature film made for under $500,000)
“Baby Shiva”
“Sweet Thing”
“This is not a war story”

Best Cinematography
“A Chiara”
“Blue Bayou”
“Who passed”

Best Documentary
“To flee”
“In the Same Breath”
“Summer of the Soul”

Best Editing
“A Chiara”
“The Inn of Nowhere”
“The Novice”
“The Murder of Kenneth Chamberlain”

Robert Altman Award (awarded to the director, casting director and cast of a film)

Best International Film
“Compartment No. 6”
“Driving My Car”
“Parallel Mothers”
“Little mom”
“Prayers for the Stolen”

Producers Award (Honors emerging producers who, despite very limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision necessary to produce quality independent films.)
Brad Becker Parton
Pin Chun Liu
Lizzie Shapiro

Someone to Watch Award
Alex Camilleri, “Luzzu”
Michael Sarnoski, “Pig”
Gillian Wallace Horvat, “I Blame Society”

“The Truer Than Fiction Award” (Presented to an emerging director of non-fiction feature films who has yet to receive significant recognition.)
Angelo Madsen Minax, “North by Stream”
Jessica Beshir, “Faya Dayi”
Debbie Lum, “Try Harder!”


Best New Unscripted Series or Documentary
“Black and Gone”
“The Choe Show”
“The Lady and the Dale”
“Nuclear family”
“Philly DA”

Best New Scripted Series
” Blind spot “
“It’s a sin”
“Reservation Dogs”
“The Underground Railroad”
“We are lady parts”

Best Female Performance in a New Scripted Series
Thuso Mbedu, “The Underground Railroad”
Anjana Vasan, “We are female parts”
Jana Schmieding, “Rutherford Falls”
Jasmine Cephas Jones, “Blindspot”
Deborah Ayorinde, “THEM: Pact”

Best Male Performance in a New Scripted Series
Lee Jung-jae, “Squid Game”
Olly Alexander, “It’s a Sin”
Michael Greyeyes, “Rutherford Falls”
Murray Bartlett, “The White Lotus”
Ashley Thomas, “THEM: Pact”

Best Ensemble Cast in a New Scripted Series
“Reservation Dogs”

The Film Independent Spirit Awards are supported by main sponsor IFC and FIJI Water, the official water. To join Film Independent and vote for the Spirit Awards, please visit

The Spirit Awards are the premier fundraiser for Film Independent’s year-round programs, which cultivate the careers of emerging filmmakers and promote diversity and inclusion in the film industry. To support our work with a donation, please Click here.


Comments are closed.