Independent Film Festival underway at JU


On Friday, dignitaries and organizers raise the curtain on the 1st Jahangirnagar Independent Film Festival at Zahir Raihan Auditorium, Jahangirnagar University. — New Age Photo

A three-day film festival, titled 1st Jahangirnagar Independent Film Festival, kicked off at the Zahir Raihan Auditorium of Jahangirnagar University on Friday.

The Jahangirnagar University Teacher Student Centre, Jahangirnagar Cine Society, Jahangirnagar Film Movement and Zahir Raihan Film Sangsad jointly organized the festival.

The event presents a selection of short films, four feature films and workshops on cinema.

The organizers lifted the curtain on the film festival by screening two films named Chandrabati Kotha and Alatchakra at the auditorium. In addition, film producer Arifur Rahman led a workshop on film production and cinematographer Rashed Zaman led a workshop on cinematography on opening day.

Acclaimed filmmaker Nurul Alam Atique led a screenwriting workshop, Harun Or Rashid led a sound design workshop, and filmmaker Mohammad Touqir Islam led a seminar titled Director’s Talk on Saturday. Also, two films titled Nona Joler Kabbo and Rehana Maryam Noor were screened during the event.

The film festival will end today. Short films from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Portugal, Nepal, Republic of Korea, Thailand and Vietnam will be screened at the festival today.

In addition, the artist Manoj Pramanik will lead a seminar entitled Meet the Artist.

Festival coordinator Professor Manosh Chowdhury said filmmaker Kazi Hayat will receive a lifetime honor and the late renowned artist Humayun Faridi will be honored posthumously at the festival.

In addition, two other prizes will also be awarded in two categories. An award named in honor of former Secretary General of Jahangirnagar Cine Society, the late Ranjit Das Chowhan, will be given in the Best Young Film Producer category and an award named in honor of Jahangirnagar Film Movement activist, the late Faysal Rahman Kishor, will be awarded in the category entitled Best cinema.

The festival jury includes renowned filmmakers Nurul Alam Atique, Amitabh Reza Chowdhury and Proshoon Rahman.

Meanwhile, the organizers in collaboration with Bangladesh Film Archive organized an exhibition of old movie posters in the premises of Zahir Raihan Auditorium.


Comments are closed.