Belfast and Boiling Point top 2021 British Independent Film Awards nominations


British Independent Film Awards 2021 nominations announced, with Kenneth Branagh’s semi-autobiographical coming-of-age story Belfast and Stephen Graham’s single-take drama Boiling point leading the pack with 11 nominations in total.

Boiling point finds himself competing for the best independent British film award, alongside After Love, Ali and Ava, The nest and The Remembrance Part II, with both After Love and The Remembrance Part II adding eight more nominations tied with Censor out of nine in total.

Here is the full list of nominations …

Best British Independent Film
After Love
Ali and Ava
Boiling point
The nest
The Remembrance Part II

Best director
Philip Barantini, Boiling Point
Clio Barnard, Ali & Ava
Sean Durkin, The Nest
Joanna Hogg, The Remembrance Part II
Aleem Khan, after love

Best actress
Caitriona Balfe, Belfast
Carrie Coon, The Nest
Claire Rushbrook, Ali and Ava
Joanna Scanlan, After Love
Ruth Wilson, The Real Things

Best actor
Riz Ahmed, Meeting
Adel Akhtar, Ali and Ava
Stephen Graham, Boiling Point
Jude Law, The Nest
James Norton, nowhere special

Best Supporting Actress
Judi Dench, Belfast
Jo Hartley, honey
Nathalie Richard, After love
Vinette Robinson, Boiling point
Tilda Swinton, The Remembrance Part II

Best Supporting Actor
Talid Ariss, After love
Richard Ayoade, The Remembrance Part II
Lucian-River Chauhan, Meeting
Ciarán Hinds, Belfast
Ray Panthaki, Boiling Point

Best scenario
Clio Barnard, Ali & Ava
Terence Davies, Blessing
Sean Durkin, The Nest
Joanna Hogg, The Remembrance Part II
Aleem Khan, after love

The Douglas Hickox Prize (Best First Director)
Prano Bailey-Bond, censor
Celeste Bell, polystyrene: I’m a cliché [Also Directed By Paul Sng]
Cathy Brady, Forest fire
Aleem Khan, after love
Marley Morrison, honey

Revolutionary producer
Michelle Antoniades, honey
Helen Jones, Censor
Jessica Malik, she will [Also Produced By Bob Last]
Hester Ruoff, Boiling Point [Also Produced By Bart Ruspoli]
Rob Watson, The Power [Also Produced By Matthew James Wilkinson]

Best First Writer
Prano Bailey-Bond, censor [Also Written By Anthony Fletcher]
Cathy Brady, Forest fire
Aleem Khan, after love
Marley Morrison, honey
Reggie Yates, Pirates

The Raindance Discovery Prize
Bank, Job Daniel Edelstyn, Hilary Powell, Christopher Hird
The Bike Thief, Matt Chambers, Pk Fellowes, Sophia Gibber, Lene Bausager
I’m Belmaya, Sue Carpenter, Christopher Hird
Polystyrene: I’m a Cliché, Paul Sng, Celeste Bell, Zoë Howe, Rebecca Mark-Lawson, Matthew Silverman, Daria Nitsche
Rebel Dykes, Harri Shanahan, Siân A. Williams, Siobhan Fahey

Best British Short Film
Egúngún (masquerade)
Night of living terror
Play it safe
Precious hair and beauty

Best International Independent Film
Compartment n ° 6
First cow
To flee
Little mom

Best casting
Shaheen Baig, after love
Shaheen Baig, Ali and Ava
Shaheen Baig, Pirates
Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockmann, Belfast
Carolyn Mcleod, Boiling Point

Best photography
Mátyás Erdély, The Nest
Magdalena Kowalczyk, cow
Matthew Lewis, Boiling Point
Annika Summerson, Censor
Haris Zambarloukos, Belfast

Best costume design
Michael O’Connor, The Electric Life of Louis Wain
Grace Snell, The Remembrance Part II
Guy Speranza, everybody’s talking about Jamie
Annie Symons, Blessing
Charlotte Walter, Belfast

Best music
Iain Cooke, Pirates
Connie Farr, Harry Escott, Ali and Ava
Jed Kurzel, Meet
Clint Mansell, In the Earth
Van Morrison, Belfast

Best effects
Steven Bray, Mike Knights, Dashcam
Gary Brown, István Molnár, Dan Martin, censor
Rupert Davies, The Electric Life of Louis Wain

Best Editing
Helle Le Fèvre, The Souvenir Part II
Rebecca Lloyd, Jacob Schulsinger, Nicolas Chaudeurge, Cow
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, Belfast
Mark Towns, censor
Ben Wheatley, in the dirt

Best makeup and hairstyle
Siobhan Harper-Ryan, The Remembrance Part II
Vickie Lang, Kristyan Mallett, Donald Mcinnes, The Electric Life of Louis Wain
Ruth Pease, censorship
Nadia Stacey, everyone’s talking about Jamie
Wakana Yoshihara, Belfast

Best production design
Jim Clay, Belfast
Stéphane Collonge, The Souvenir Part II
Suzie Davies, The Electric Life of Louis Wain
Aimee Meek, Boiling Point
Paulina Rzeszowska, Censor

Best sound
Nicolas Becker, Cyril Holtz, Linda Forsen, Cow
James Drake, Boiling Point
Tim Harrison, Jamie Roden, Adele Fletcher, Censor
Martin Pavey, In The Earth
Andrew Stirk, Paul Davies, Morgan Muse, Bernard O’reilly, Julian Howarth, Meet

The winners of the 2021 British Independent Film Awards will be announced on Sunday 5 December.



Comments are closed.