After Love tops winners of British Independent Film Awards 2021


After last year’s virtual event, the British Independent Film Awards returned to Old Billingsgate in London last night to present their 2021 awards, featuring writer-director Aleem Khan After Love winning six awards in total, including Best British Independent Film, Best Director (Khan), Best First Director (Khan), Best Screenplay (Khan), Best Actress (Joanna Scanlan) and Talid Ariss (Best actor in a supporting role).

SEE ALSO: Read our After Love review here

You can check out the full list of 2021 British Independent Film Awards winners here…

Best British Independent Film
After Love – (WINNER)
Ali and Ava
Boiling point
The nest
Remembrance Part II

Best Director
Alem Khan, After Love – (WINNER)
Philippe Barantini, Boiling point
Clio Barnard, Ali and Ava
Sean Durkin, The nest
Joanna Hogg, Remembrance Part II

Best Actress
Joanna Scanlan, After Love (WINNER)
Caitriona Balfe, Belfast
Carrie Coon, The nest
Claire Rushbrook, Ali and Ava
Ruth Wilson, the real things

Best actor
Adel Akhtar, Ali and Ava- (WINNER)
Rice Ahmed, Meet
Stephane Graham, Boiling point
Jude Law, The nest
James Norton, nowhere special

Best Supporting Actress
Vinette Robinson, Boiling point – WINNER
Judi Dench, Belfast
Jo Hartley, Sweetheart
Natalie Richard, After Love
Tilda Swinton, Remembrance Part II

Best Supporting Actor
Talid Ariss, After Love (WINNER)
Richard Ayoade, Remembrance Part II
Lucian-Riviere Chauhan, Meet
Ciaran Hinds, Belfast
Ray Panthaki, Boiling point

Revolutionary performance
Nell Barlow, Sweetheart (WINNER)
Lauryn Ajufo, Boiling point
Max Harwood, Everybody’s talking about Jamie
Jude Hill, Belfast
Ellora Torchia, In the ground

Douglas Hickox Award (Best First Director)
Alem Khan, After Love (WINNER)
Prano Bailey Bond, Censor
Celeste Bell, Poly Styrene: I Am A Cliché [Also Directed By Paul Sng]
Cathy Brady, Fires
Marley Morrison, Sweetheart

Best Screenplay
Alem Khan, After Love (WINNER)
Clio Barnard, Ali and Ava
Terence Davies, Blessing
Sean Durkin, The nest
Joanna Hogg, Remembrance Part II

Breakthrough Producer
Michelle Antoniades, Sweetheart (WINNER)
Helene Jones, Censor
Jessica Malick, She goes [Also Produced By Bob Last]
Hester Ruoff, Boiling point [Also Produced By Bart Ruspoli]
Rob Watson, The power [Also Produced By Matthew James Wilkinson]

Best First Screenwriter
Cathy Brady, Fires (WINNER)
Prano Bailey Bond, Censor [Also Written By Anthony Fletcher]
Alem Khan, After Love
Marley Morrison, Sweetheart
Reggie Yates, pirate

The Raindance Discovery Prize
Poly Styrene: I Am A Cliché, Paul Sng, Celeste Bell, Zoë Howe, Rebecca Mark-Lawson, Matthew Silverman, Daria Nitsche (WINNER)
Bank, Job Daniel Edelstyn, Hilary Powell, Christopher Hird
The bike thief, Matt Chambers, Pk Fellowes, Sophia Gibber, Lene Bausager
I am Belmaya, Sue Carpenter, Christopher Hird
rebel dykes, Harri Shanahan, Siân A. Williams, Siobhan Fahey

Best British Short Film
Woman (WINNER)
Living Dread Night
playing it safe
Precious Hair & Beauty

Best International Independent Film
To flee (WINNER)
Compartment no. 6
first cow

Little mom

Best cast
Carolyn Macleod, Boiling point (WINNER)
Shaheen Baig, After Love
Shaheen Baig, Ali and Ava
Shaheen Baig, pirate
Lucy Bevan, Emily Brockman, Belfast

Best Cinematography
Matthew Lewis, Boiling point (WINNER)
Matyas Erdely, The nest
Madeleine Kowalczyk, Cow
Annika Summerson, Censor
Haris Zambarloukos, Belfast

Best Costume Design
Thanks Snel, Remembrance Part II (WINNER)
Michael O’Connor, The Electric Life of Louis Wain
Guy Speranza, Everybody’s talking about Jamie
Anne Symon, Blessing
Charlotte Walter, Belfast

Best Music
Connie Farr, Harry Escot, Ali and Ava (WINNER)
Iain Cooke, pirate
Jed Kurzel, Meet
Clint Mansell, In the ground
Van Morrison, Belfast

Best Effects
Steven Bray, Mike Knights, dash cam (WINNER)
Gary Brown, Istvan Molnar, Dan Martin, Censor
Rupert Davies, The Electric Life of Louis Wain

Best Editing
Helle Le Fevre, Remembrance Part II (WINNER)
Rebecca Lloyd, Jacob Schulsinger, Nicolas Chaudeurge, Cow
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle, Belfast
Mark the cities, Censor
Ben Wheatley, In the ground

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
Vickie Lang, Kristyan Mallett, Donald Mcinnes, The Electric Life of Louis Wain (WINNER)
Siobhan Harper-Ryan, Remembrance Part II
Ruth Pease, Censor
Nadia Stacey, Everybody’s talking about Jamie
Wakana Yoshihara, Belfast

Best Production Design
Stephane Collonge, Remembrance Part II (WINNER)
Jim Clay, Belfast
Suzie Davis, The Electric Life of Louis Wain
Aimee Meek, Boiling point
Paulina Rzeszowska, Censor

best sound
James Drake, Rob Entwistle, Kiff McManus Boiling point (WINNER)
Nicolas Becker, Cyril Holtz, Linda Forsen, Cow
Tim Harrison, Jamie Roden, Adele Fletcher, Censor
Martin Pavey, In the ground
Andrew Stirk, Paul Davies, Morgan Muse, Bernard O’Reilly, Julian Howarth, Meet



Comments are closed.